The best mascaras in 2020: Reviews by real women

The best mascaras in 2020: Reviews by real womenThe best mascaras in 2020: Reviews by real women.

We asked women from all walks of life — from teenagers to women in their 50s. Here are their top-rated picks.

Last updated: 4 February 2020.

Which is the best mascara? It’s almost impossible to know. Mascara ads always seem to promise the world. Lashes that are 10 times thicker. False-lash effect. Sky-high curls. Lash-multiplying formula. But most of them never truly deliver on these claims.

Nobody has the time or money to test mascara after mascara. So how do we really know what works and what doesn’t?

By asking, of course.

We asked women from all walks of life which is the best mascara they’ve ever used.

What did we find? Well, there was one clear favorite and lots of other great products that we never even thought to try!

Our top mascara picks.

The Falsies Lights Camera Lashes Hypnose Badgal Lash Diorshow.

They’re Real! Masterpiece Max Smokey Eye Faux Cils.

Sumptuous Extreme Lash The Colossal Cat Eyes Dead Sexy Lashes Better than Sex Huge Extreme Lash.

Aqua Smokey Lash Mascara Scandaleyes Flex Mineral Mascara Telescopic Mascara Lash Slick.

1. Maybelline – The Falsies.

Best supermarket mascara ever. Affordable and definitely comparable to more expensive brands I’ve tried. Natalie I’m a sucker for a bargain, and luckily for me Maybelline is a reliable one. Great for everyday use and not as thick or clumpy as some of the more expensive brands. Liz The Falsies is really good for a defining the individual lashes. It’s a good price too. Clare No clumps – just long, thick lashes. Rae It makes my lashes huge without being clumpy. Also, they say that you’re meant to replace your mascara every 3 or so months due to bacteria. I love that this product is relatively inexpensive and that I can buy it whilst doing my usual weekly grocery shop. Alana Using the lower lash brush because I make a mess with the normal sized one. Jackie.

2. Tarte – Lights Camera Lashes.

I really liked it because it’s a mascara you can layer without it becoming clumpy. Even if I do five coats, my lashes never turned into stuck-together blobs as they do with other mascaras. Mia Tarte makes a great mascara. Depending on how thick your lashes are you can get away with one coat which is quite economical. Great for darker lashes. Alex M It’s thickening yet it doesn’t clump or smudge. Emily M.

3. Lancôme – Hypnose.

Lancôme Hypnose, because it stays put! Marie Lancôme Hypnose Star. It’s the best mascara for a night out or if you want a bit of the wow factor for the day. People will actually compliment you and notice the hints of glitter in your eyelashes. Guess the price doesn’t warrant wearing it everyday though! Shirley Lancôme Hypnose Doll. As a short lashed Asian female, I am partial to Lancôme hypnose baby doll. I’m prone to smudging because of my lack of eyelids and tiny eyes. But it gives you epic length, especially if you layer it. Sally.

4. Benefit – Badgal Lash Mascara.

I love Benefit’s Bad Gal mascara because it makes my lashes look longer, and my eyes look bigger. Rachel.

5. Dior – Diorshow Waterproof Mascara.

Never using anything else! No running – it lasts all day and night and gives good volume. Katrine.

6. Benefit – They’re Real!

This mascara gives you length and volume at the same time, and it never looks clumpy or like you’re wearing too much. Amanda.

7. Max Factor – Masterpiece Max.

I like it because the brush spreads out my lashes, thus avoiding clumping, and it also adds volume and length which is great because I don’t need to use two! It also doesn’t crumble off so it stays on forever! Jessica P.

8. Bobbi Brown – Smokey Eye Mascara.

It lasts forever and doesn’t clump. Bianca M.

9. Yves Saint Laurent – Mascara Volume Effect Faux Cils.

Perfect balance of length and volume, beautiful non-clogging formula. Steph A.

10. Estee Lauder – Sumptuous Extreme Lash Multiplying Volume Mascara.

It has a long name so you KNOW it’s fancy. Also because it’s perfect for everyday wear (not too heavy) but can also be layered for some intense eyelash magic. Jessica C.

11. Maybelline – Volum’ Express The Colossal Cat Eyes Mascara.

For a ‘I’m not wearing mascara, I’m naturally pretty’ look. Amy.

12. Lengthening & Define Dead Sexy Lashes Mascara.

This mascara basically doubles my eyelashes and makes them look much fuller. It’s a great second application mascara if you’re someone who likes to layer. Aliyyah.

13. Too Faced – Better than Sex.

It really is better than sex! Bianca C.

14. Stila – Huge Extreme Lash Mascara.

One coat and BAM. Hellooo eyes. Mary.

15. Make Up For Ever – Aqua Smoky Lash Mascara.

It gives long lasting curl. It’s so dramatic and it gives amazing length. Emily G.

16. Rimmel – Scandaleyes Flex.

I like it because it’s the only good brand that makes my lashes look amazing that I’m not allergic to. It’s hypoallergenic but not an unknown hippy brand. Cassilda.

17. Inika – Mineral Mascara.

Because it’s not stuck in the eyes of animals nor uses ingredients from exploited animals, and it looks amazing. Jennifer.

18. L’Oreal Paris – Telescopic Mascara.

It’s super dark and creates unbelievable length that gets noticed every time. Lauren.

19. Glossier Lash Slick.

For an everyday casual lash you can wear without any other makeup, Lash Slick is my mascara of choice. Amanda.

Current deals and specials.

Discover your personalized skincare formulations in 3 minutes.

Last verified 25 Feb 2020.

Free shipping on orders over $30.

Last verified 25 Jun 2019.

Get a free sample of each Elastine Propilthera hair care product on any purchase.

Last verified 16 Apr 2020.

Deal ends 28 Apr 2020.

Best-selling Eye, Lip & Brow Liners now: $3.99 when you shop with a rep.

Limited Time Offer.

Last verified 15 Apr 2020.

Deal ends 28 Apr 2020.

Buy 2 get 3rd free on hair care.

Last verified 31 Mar 2020.

Deal ends 26 Apr 2020.

Free shipping on full-size items.

Black Friday sale, restrictions apply In add-on shop, when you add them to your subscription box.

Last verified 25 Nov 2019.

Coupon code ends 26 Oct 2020.

Receive free shipping on full size items in the add-on shop.

Last verified 29 Oct 2019.

Deal ends 26 Oct 2020.

Don’t miss the latest offers at GLOSSYBOX.

Last verified 16 Oct 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2029.

Foreo Luna Facial Cleanser was $199.00 now $64.97.

Last verified 10 Oct 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2025.

54% off Urban Decay Naked smoky palette was $54 now $24.97.

T&Cs apply While supplies last.

Last verified 10 Oct 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2025.

Save at GLOSSYBOX today.

Last verified 1 Oct 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2029.

Free mini Ginger shampoo with any order $45+

Last verified 27 Sep 2019.

Coupon code ends 19 Aug 2025.

Discounted shipping on everything, right now!

Last verified 19 Sep 2019.

Check eBay for their latest beauty deals.

Brands include Opalex, Clinique, Caudalie, Origins and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified 10 Sep 2019.

Free shipping on $50+ order.

Last verified 4 Sep 2019.

Deal ends 13 Sep 2021.

Save $20 off your first purchase of $75 or more.

When you sign up to the Juice Beauty newsletter.

Last verified 27 Aug 2019.

Shop the sale section.

Brands include Huda Beauty, Fenty, Urban Decay and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified 20 Aug 2019.

Browse the GLOSSYBOX website for their latest offers.

Last verified 14 Aug 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2029.

Shop the latest brands in the “Clean at Sephora” range.

Last verified 22 Jul 2019.

BOGO free tinted veil moisturizer.

Last verified 2 Jul 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2025.

Free mascara with order of a palette.

Last verified 2 Jul 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2025.

Enjoy complimentary shipping and two samples with orders of $60 and more.

Last verified 26 Jun 2019.

Shop Kylie Jenner’s lipsticks.

Last verified 26 Jun 2019.

Get makeup brushes on sale today.

Last verified 26 Jun 2019.

Browse the Yves Rocher website for their latest offers.

Last verified 25 Jun 2019.

Deal ends 31 Dec 2029.

Free sample and shipping on orders $40 and over.

Last verified 25 Jun 2019.

Free full size lipstick with orders $20 and over.

Last verified 25 Jun 2019.

Shop the Jeffree Star Collection at Showpo.

Plus get free shipping on any orders over $50.

Last verified 7 May 2019.

Free delivery available on orders $30 and over.

Last verified 30 Oct 2018.

Free shipping on order $65 and over.

Last verified 31 May 2018.

15% off your first order when you sign up.

Last verified 31 May 2018.

Shop the editor’s beauty picks on Amazon.

Get the best beauty products on Amazon thanks to the editor’s picks.

Last verified 20 May 2018.

Free shipping on any $50 purchase.

Last verified 9 May 2018.

Free Shipping on the Phase 1 Set.

Last verified 6 May 2018.

Deal ends 30 Dec 2021.

Free US shipping on orders $40 and over.

Free global shipping on $60+

Last verified 4 May 2018.

20% off your first order.

When you sign up to the Bliss List newsletter.

Last verified 26 Apr 2018.

Free shipping on orders over $35.

Last verified 3 Apr 2018.

Free standard shipping on any $50 purchase.

Last verified 3 Apr 2018.

Receive free shipping at Sephora when you spend over $55.

Last verified 1 Apr 2018.

Free standard delivery on all US orders.

Plus free tracked delivery on orders $100 and over.

Last verified 30 Mar 2018.

Popular Hair & Makeup coupon codes.

Last checked Code description Code 26 Nov 2019 Free shipping on full-size items TRE**** 27 Sep 2019 Free mini Ginger shampoo with any order $45+ fre**** 25 Jun 2019 Free full size lipstick with orders $20 and over WIN**** 2 Apr 2018 Free shipping on your first order **** 30 Mar 2018 Receive 10% when signing up for email WEL****

Mia Steiber.

Mia Steiber was the shopping editor for Finder. She previously worked for publications such as Bauer Media, The Daily Telegraph, POPSUGAR Australia, Gizmodo and Lifehacker. She has a journalism degree from the University of Technology Sydney, a travel writing certification from the ACIJ and and a total obsession with skincare and Australian fashion labels.

Ask an Expert.

32 East 31st Street, 4th Floor, New York , NY , 10016.

Tax shelter or offshore account Financial professional Financing options for senior care Special needs planning Disability insurance Best companies of 2020 Cheapest rates Term life Whole life Life insurance 101 How to buy Average cost Payout and taxes High-risk individuals Occupational hazards Substance abuse © 2020 finder.com.

We endeavor to ensure that the information on this site is current and accurate but you should confirm any information with the product or service provider and read the information they can provide. If you are unsure you should get independent advice before you apply for any product or commit to any plan.

finder.com is an independent comparison platform and information service that aims to provide you with the tools you need to make better decisions. While we are independent, we may receive compensation from our partners for featured placement of their products or services. We may also receive compensation if you click on certain links posted on our site.

How likely would you be to recommend finder to a friend or colleague?

Thank you for your feedback.

Our goal is to create the best possible product, and your thoughts, ideas and suggestions play a major role in helping us identify opportunities to improve.